The Power of Prayer

by the Holy Spirit

Come Holy Spirit


The Seven Holy Virtues

  1. Chastity -

    (Purity, knowledge, honesty, wisdom) Abstaining from sexual conduct according to one's state in life; the practice of courtly love and romantic friendship. Cleanliness through cultivated good health and hygiene, and maintained by refraining from intoxicants. To be honest with oneself, one's family, one's friends, and to all of humanity. Embracing of moral wholesomeness and achieving purity of thought-through education and betterment. The ability to refrain from being distracted and influenced by hostility, temptation or corruption. (The vice for this Virtue is Lust).

  2. Temperance -

    Restraint, temperance, justice. Constant mindfulness of others and one's surroundings; practicing self-control, abstenion, moderation, zero-sum and deferred gratification. Prudence to judge between actions with regard to appropriate actions at a given time. Proper moderation between self-interest, versus public-interest, and against the rights and needs of others. (The vice for this Virtue is Gluttony).

  3. Charity -

    Generosity, charity, self-sacrifice; the term should not be confused the the more restricted modern use of the word charity to mean benevolent giving. In Christian theology, charity -- or love -- is the greatest of the three theological virtues.

    Love, in the sense of an unlimited loving kindness towards all others, is held to be the ultimate perfection of the human spirit, because it is said to both glorify and reflect the nature of God. In its most extreme form, such love can be self-sacrificial. Confusion can arise from the multiple meanings of the English word "love". The love that is "caritas" is distinguished by its origin -- being devinely infused into the soul -- and by its residing in the will rather than emotions, regardless of what emotions it stirs up. This love is necessary for salvation, and with it, no one can be lost. (The vice for this Virtue is Greed).

  4. Diligence -

    (Persistence, effort, ethics, rectitude). A zealous and careful nature in one's actions and work; decisive work ethic, steadfastness in belief, fortitude, and the capability of not giving up. Budgeting one's time; monitoring one's own activities to guard against laziness.

    Upholding one's convictions at all times, especially when no one else is watching (integrity).

    (The vice for this Virtue is Sloth)

  5. Patience -

    (Peace, mercy, ahimsa, sufferance). Forbearance and endurance through moderation. Resolving conflicts and injustice peacefully, as opposed to resorting to violence. The ability to forgive; to show mercy to sinners. Not killing or being violent in any way to any life form or sentient being; to practice moderation of meat consumption and consistent life ethic. Creating a sense of peaceful stability and community, rather than engendering suffering, hostility, and antagonism. (The vice for this Virtue is Wrath).

  6. Kindness -

    (Satisfaction, loyalty, compassion, integrity). Charity, compassion, and friendship for its own sake. Empathy and trust without prejudice or resentment. Unconditional love and voluntary kindness without bias or spite. Having positive outlooks and cheerful demeanor; to inspire kindness in others. (The vice for this Virtue is Envy).

  7. Humility -

    (Bravery, modesty, reverence, altruism). Modest behavior, selflessness, and the giving of respect. The courage of the heart necessary to undertake tasks which are difficult, tedious or unglamorous, and to graciously accept the sacrifices involved. Reverence for those who have wisdom and those who selflessly teach in love. Giving credit where credit is due; not unfairly glorifying one's own self. Being faithful to promises, no matter how big or small they may be. Refraining from despair and the ability to confront fear and uncertainty, or intimidation.

Restraint is the keystone of the seven holy virtues. The other holy virtues are created through selfless pursuits:

  • Valour: Pursuit of Courage and Knowledge
  • Generosity: Pursuit of Giving
  • Liberality: Pursuit of Will
  • Diligence: Pursuit of Ethics
  • Patience: Pursuit of Peace
  • Kindness: Pursuit of Charity
  • Humility: Pursuit of Modest

In Catholic catechism, the seven virtues refers to one of two lists of virtues, most commonly referring to the 4 Cardinal virtues of Prudence, Justice, Restraint, or Temperance, and Courage or Fortitude, and the 3 Theological virtues of Faith, Hope, and Love or Charity; these were adopted by the Church Fathers.

See Seven Deady Sins

I have added this prayer indexfor your convenience.





For those of you who don't have frames enabled browsers,
use the pull-down menus below to navigate through this Web site.

scroll down and click a page!

Post / Chat

Prayers & Inspiration

Holy Rosary & Stations

Holiday Pages

The Power of Prayer Site Index
Biographies and Prayers
The Holy Rosary & Stations of the Cross Pages
Holiday Pages Novenas


E-Mail Me



Need Prayers? E-mail your prayer requests to me by clicking here, E-mail me.

The power of prayer is awesome. Miracles do happen...usually because someone prays...and God in His Divine Mercy answers...

To send Christian/Catholic Greeting cards, Click here...It's the Franciscan Greeting Card website.


Online since 1996

You are listening to

Something in the Air by Phil Collins